I was planning a different post but I found our copy of “Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH” today and read it in a couple of hours.  I’ve probably read that book 10 times over the years, but it’s been a while since the last time through.  It still holds up.  I’ve found that the very best children’s books can be read and loved by adults as well.  When you don’t talk down to children but, instead, credit them with a brain and a point of view, you can create something truly marvelous.  Which this book is.

It’s the book I most wish had a sequel to it.  The writer died a few years after it was written.  I’ve never heard that he was planning  a sequel, but in my heart I always assumed he was.  I wish he’d left notes for his family about who, exactly, perished at the end of the book.  I wish I’d gotten to find out more about the rats at Thorn Valley.  I want to know why the folks from NIMH showed up with cyanide gas.  You’d think they’d want to catch the rats alive, not kill them.

I just found out today that there is a sequel book, but it wasn’t written by the writer.  It was written by his daughter long after his death.  I am going to buy it even though it’s not necessarily the writer’s plan.  Usually, I think sequels written by different authors aren’t worth my time.  This time, however, I will give it a try.  A daughter would probably hit a bit closer to the mark, and who knows, maybe he mentioned to her who the dead rats were.  I would find it unbearable if one was Justin.

My daughter read this book for her summer reading.  She didn’t want to.  It starts out a bit dry.  But I told her it was great and that it got really good very soon.  So she kept at it and now she adores this book as well.  I wish Pixar would make this movie.  I know there is a movie about this already, but I saw it when I was younger and I wasn’t impressed.  This book deserves a great animated film.  Pixar would do it, but I think they only work on original stories.  Too bad.  I’d love it if they made an exception for this.

I got to thinking.  That Dean Koontz book, Watchers, about the dog who has been experimented on and is being chased and can read?  Hmmmm.  VERY similar stories.  Perhaps he was unintentionally inspired by a this book?

Anyway, I guess I don’t really have much of a point.  I just wanted to give a shout out to one of my all time favorite BOOKS and I mean adult and children, that I’ve ever read.

Well done!

(new toon up.  Yes, it’s a black and white Sunday strip that will run on a Wednesday.  Is there a problem with that? 😉

