My husband and I got to go see a movie yesterday without our kids.  I know, it’s a miracle.  The last time we managed that was over five years ago, so it was a pretty sweet feat.  We decided to see Avatar instead of Sherlock Holmes only because my daughter has seen Avatar and she raved about it, and so have several other people I know.  I hadn’t followed it online, I didn’t know the plot other than seeing the blue alien people on commercials, but I did think it looked interesting (even though James Cameron is not a selling point for me.  He comes off as a jerk in real life).  My point is, we went in with no real expectations and we hadn’t been spoiled on the plot.

It blew me away.  You HAVE to go see this movie on the big screen before it’s out of theatres!  Try to find one in 3D (they gave us real glasses.  We had to give them back at the end, but they werent’ even paper, they were real!)  It was the most visually beautiful movie I’ve ever seen.  The colors and the trees and the mountains… you were completely immersed in the world of Pandora, and you actually forgot it wasn’t real.  It was seamlessly done and it will definitely lose something if you wait to see it on DVD.  Totally worth the price of admission.

This is how good it was.  We went to see it on a Tuesday during the matinee.  We were expecting to be the only ones in there.  It was PACKED.  That never happens here for a matinee of a movie that’s not on opening night!  It had to be all word of mouth.  And it was packed with older people.  Retirees and middle-aged people and couples in their thirties.  No children and no teenagers.  I’ve never seen this make up in a theatre.  And it was long.  2.5 hours.  With previews and wait time.. easily three hours in the theatre.  And not one person got up to go to the bathroom or anything during the entire movie.  I had to pee but I didn’t go because I didn’t want to miss anything.  It was fantastic!

However, it wasn’t perfect.   It was predictable.  Half way through I knew where it was headed and 3/4 of the way through both my husband and I knew what the ending would inevitably be.  And we were right.  But it didn’t matter.  I liked the characters enough to not worry about predictability.

The other thing was it reminded me a bit of Pocahontas and Dances with Wolves.  The big white Bwana comes in to lead the natives…  Kind of an unsettling message.  But again, I loved it anyway (even if I would have written it a tad differently if, you know, James Cameron had bothered to ask me to fix his script for him).

The saving nature message was great and came through loud and clear, and I loved that the main character was in a wheel chair.  I know a few people in chairs and I like that everyone kept almost running him down because they don’t even SEE him there in his chair.  Realistic stuff.

One last thing.  And I hate to say it but… Sigourney Weaver has finally gotten old.  It was depressing.  The woman (who is one of my favorite actresses) has looked about 35-40 for the past 25 years or so.  When she was both younger AND older than that age range she has looked that age and now, to see her looking a bit like a granny onscreen…Damn.  I feel old.  She was fantastic, as usual, but she has finally aged a bit (calling her a granny is not really what she looks like.  She just looks like an older version of herself).  Though it is nice to see an actress who has not messed with her lips and face to the point where they look like the Joker.

So.  To sum up–get thee down to the theatre and go see Avatar!  It’s totally worth it (if only to marvel at this world that CGI has created).

