I LOVE the Harry Potter books, and I am quite excited to go see the Half Blood Prince movie, even though the movie’s are always a little disappointing because they never put in all I want them to and they tend to change things on a whim.  But still, a pretty exciting day in our household.

I first heard about Harry Potter on the Rosie O’Donnell show about 9 years ago.  She was interviewing J.K. Rowling about her book The Prisnor of Azkaban (the third in the series) and it sounded boring.  Then she said that all three of her books were currently on the best seller lists and I was more than irritated, I was pissed.  Because nothing ever lives up to the hype and I thought the people buying these books were complete morons or lemmings, just fattening up Rowling’s pocketbook.  I was trying (unsuccessfully) to get published at the time and I just had to know what was sooo good that everyone had to buy their very own copy of it.  My jealousy runneth over…

I didn’t want to give her any more money, so I checked the first book out of the library.  We went to Disney World that week and I started it in the hotel room the first night with no real hope of it being good.  It sucked me right in and I got a very peculiar feeling as I read it.  I just kept thinking how fabulous it would be if it were true.  I had been a misfit child (hard to believe, I know) and it would have been so wonderful to be able to leave all of that and go to Hogwarts and perform magic… This was a very impressive book.  I can honestly say that it’s one of the few times in my life where something is not overrated.  The hype behind it was true.  At least for me.

I immediately wanted to read the second book but it kept being checked out of the library, so I read number three first.  That book remains my favorite in the series (well, except for the last one).  Then I bought the second book and then I went out and bought the first and third one’s too.  And when The Goblet of Fire came out (number 4) I had preordered it and it came to my house on the day it came out.  My daughter was also into Harry Potter so we had to share the book.  She got to read it until her bedtime and then I got it, and I finished it (she was sooo mad that I read it before her) and with books 5, 6 and 7 we bought 2 copies so we wouldn’t have to share.  Yes, J.K. Rowling is a billionaire today because of crazy people like us.  My husband is not into Harry Potter at all and he just rolls his eyes whenever we start discussing it.  Poor man…

I’ve met a lot of Christians who are appalled that I not only read the books and love them but that I let my children read them too.  I have to say it baffles me why they are against these books.  No they are not Christian books but I read lots of fiction (a lot of horror) and most of it is MUCH worse than this stuff.  All there is is some minor rule-breaking that the kids do that could be considered bad.  They spend the rest of their time fighting evil.  There is magic in the books but there is also magic in the Lord of the Rings books and they are deemed ok because a Christian wrote them with a Christian agenda.  I get the distinction, I just think it’s rather silly and arbitrary.

I get the whole witches thing, but honestly, these are not real spells.  The witches and wizards in the books are magical.  Kind of like Doug Henning or what’s his name who almost married the supermodel (you know, if they were actually performing magic and not doing tricks).  I just think the books are neat.  They are full of really cool details that I wish I’d thought of, and I think they have a good heart.

So I cannot wait to go to see this movie (if not tonight, tomorrow for sure!)  It’s always a good month when we get some new Potter stuff…

I have new toons up on my website (www.karenmontaguereyes.com) in the Clear Blue Water section.  I’ve completely caught up and I’m feeling very proud of myself.

