I have a great idea for an animated short film.  I am really excited about it and I can visualize it perfectly from start to finish.  I wasn’t trying to come up with an idea for an animated short, it just came to me one day fully realized.  I cannot wait to get started on this project!  Only one problem… I have no background in animation, and I have no idea what I am doing.

 

Now, I am not calling for animators.  That’s not what this post is about.  I’m just saying that I have a ton of  ideas for different projects that I’m completely unqualified for floating around in my head.  And they usually bombard me the worst when I am actually sitting down and trying to write out cartoon ideas!  Now, a vivid imagination and strong visualization skills are huge blessings and I am not complaining about them.  It’s just, that I wish I had the skills and the time to actually follow up on some of the ideas I come up with. 

 

I have thought up inventions that I think I could patent and sell on TV for $19.95 a piece.  Oh, but did I mention that I’m not an engineer and I have no idea how to BUILD any of these inventions?  Oh, and I’m not a salesman either, so that’s another huge problem.

 

Anyway, my son has expressed interest in helping me animate my short film.  He has no idea what he’s doing either, but we have decided to try and learn it together.  I will probably never do anything with this film (unless, by some miracle, it turns out fantastic!  Don’t hold your breath…), but I’d like us to do it anyway.  My son is a wonderfully talented artist, and he’s smart as can be so he’s a great partner for this.  It will make a nice project, I will learn a new skill set, and it will be something fun (and rather tedious, I’d guess) that I can share with my son.  And, to paraphrase the Master Card commercials, that’s priceless.

