Today’s cartoon was lifted almost exactly from my life.  It was long (hence the three tiers of toon) and it took me a LONG time to color because I lost all of my color files from my old computer.  That’s also why the characters look a little off.  They are not their real colors because I never thought to write them down!  I will get that stuff back and be back to normal soon.  Because this cartoon took me so long to scan and color, I didn’t post any other cartoons tonight.  I skipped the 11/29 daily and will post it tomorrow with the 12/1 and 12/2 toons. 

Back to today’s toon.  I hope it makes sense to people.  We were standing in line for Santa and my husband took three of our kids over to get free popcorn and hotdogs that were being given out.  I stayed in line with our autistic son (who wouldn’t eat either thing if his life depended on it).  While we were there he was jumping on my back and laughing and I was laughing because he was so excited.  Normal stuff for us, but not really normal considering that he’s a tall, normal looking teenager.  Anyway, this woman dresses as an elf comes along and starts asking all the kids in line (or the parents if the kids were too tiny) the kids names and what they wanted from Santa.  I don’t know what this was for, but I assume it was to help make the line move faster by giving the big guy some info right off the top (this is Maggie and she wants a Barbie.  Smile!) The elf is making a point of asking every family and then she comes to us, and I’m about to tell her my child’s name and tell her that the other kids would be back momentarily when her eyes glazed over.  She pretended we didn’t exist, walked right past us and asked the people behind me in line about THEIR children.

I almost cried!  Obviously, my son was freaking her out.  Yes, he was a bit old for Santa but he LOVES Santa Claus and we go every year and he knows what to do and if I want to take my disabled son to see Santa that’s none of her business.  I didn’t say anything to her, I just let her get away with this, but then I went home and stewed about it.  My best friend and I decided that it really needed to be a cartoon, so here it is.  I don’t know if it’s any good or not, but it sure made me feel better.

I wish, again, that I was as assertive as Eve.  Maybe someday it will rub off on me.

