My husband was watching TV a few days after the election, when he heard a really interesting discussion.  He doesn’t remember what channel he was watching or who said it, but when he told me about it I got chills.  I thougt I’d share it, but just know that I can’t take credit for this theory.  I just thought it was too interesting not to share.

It was about Martin Luthur King Jr and Barack Obama.  They said that on the day before he was assassinated in Memphis,  Dr. King gave his “I’ve been to the mountaintop” speech.  I have cut and pasted the last paragraph of this speech below:

“Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it doesn’t matter with me now. Because I’ve been to the mountaintop. And I don’t mind. Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land. And I’m happy, tonight. I’m not worried about anything. I’m not fearing any man. Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord.”

For those not familiar with the Biblical tale of Moses, let me paraphrase it quickly.  Moses led the Israelites out of Egypt.  They were supposed to go to the promised land but they were afraid of the people already in the land and they didn’t want to go because they didn’t trust God to help them (even though He’d already done a huge amount of miracles for them and they shouldn’t have doubted his ability).  This angered the Lord, so He forced them to wander around in the wilderness for 40 years until an entire generation had died off, and only their children remained.  Only one man had been willing to go into the promised land and that was Joshua.  He was allowed to live.  (Well, Caleb too, but this is about Joshua).

While Moses was in the wilderness, he angered God, and as punishment, he was not allowed to lead his people into the promised land.  God allowed him to see the promised land, but he didn’t get to experience it.  Joshua was the one tasked with leading the Israelites into the promised land, which he did with gusto.

Anyway, this person on TV likened Martin Luthur King Jr. to Moses.  He said it himself, “I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land.”  Moses led them to the threshold but didn’t get to cross.  Same with Dr. King.  RIght to the threshold, before 40 years in the wilderness… just like there are 40 years between Dr. King’s death and Barack Obama being elected President of the United States.  God does seem to like the number 40…

This anonoymous TV personality then likened Obama to Joshua.  Obama will finish what Dr. King started and finally lead his people into the promised land.  THAT is such a beautiful sentiment that it made me teary, and I think it’s worthy of being shared.  I don’t know if there’s any truth to it at all, but my heart says there is.

P.S. for anyone who prayed, and was wondering how my best friend’s 2 year old Joshua, is doing after his very long surgery today, watch this site http://lifewithspecialneedskids.blogspot.com/  Sometime tonight or tomorrow she will update, and while I know the outcome, I feel strongly that it’s her news to relate.  I am not doing this to be difficult or contrary.  It’s just that some news is better told by the person going through it, and this is one of those times.

