I am a Christian.  My faith is the most important thing in my life, and I don’t know how I’d cope without it.  My God is an awesome God and I love Him with all of my heart and I want to please Him and do His will.  There.  Now everybody knows what page I’m on and there can be no doubts.  Right?

Wrong.  Because I am also a Democrat and apparently, those two things are mutually exclusive.  I have never voted Republican and I probably never will.  I say probably because the person is more important than the party to me, but since most Republican’s don’t seem to hold the same values as I do, I fear it would be hard to find one I agreed enough with to vote for.

I don’t know why Christianity has become known as such a Republican thing.  I know plenty of liberal democrats who are also Christians, and I’m sick of being treated as if we are the red-headed step-children of mainstream Christianity.  That we are somehow not REAL Christians, or not Christians that you can take seriously.  That we are somehow Christian lite.

I am a Democrat.  I am a liberal.  I love Jesus.  I am a feminist.  I love my country and I don’t hate men and I love the flag AND I love Jesus and I read the Bible.  I am for gay rights.  I am green.  I am for equality and equal pay for equal work and I go to church on Sundays and I sing in the choir and I am voting for Obama.  Oh, and, I love Jesus and believe He was the son of God who died on the cross and rose again three days later to save us from our sins.  And I am a Democrat.

And I am proud.

…Can you tell that non-stop election coverage is really starting to get to me?  He he he he he…(crazy, tired laughter)

Goodnight.

