When I first submitted my strip to the syndicates, Eve was already pregnant with her twins.  She was about 5 months along.  During the course of my development period with Universal, it was decided that she would not be pregnant at the launch, but would get pregnant shortly thereafter.  The first 9 months of my strip were really fun to write and draw because she was huge, pregnant, uncomfortable and nasty.  I decided to have the babies be born on January 2, 2005 because she was due in January, and that was the Sunday that fit her conception timing (and yes, I took the time to figure out when my cartoon characters would have had to get pregnant.  Which is probably psychotic).  … Moving on!

This is the strip as I submitted it.  I thought it was perfect, but it turned out to be another first draft.

1/2/05 first try

1/2/05 first try

 

As you can see, Eve has blood on her gown from the babies (though I DID make it pink blood to try and make it more friendly).  You know she’s giving birth, but it’s not graphic.  There are no crowning shots or anything.  My editor emailed me and said it was too graphic.  I had to get rid of the blood and Eve was showing too much leg.  So I photoshopped the blood out and moved Eve’s gown down to cover her more in panels 1 and 4, and resubmitted it.  Here’s my second try.

1/2/05

1/2/05

 

Nope.  Still not enough.  It was still too graphic.  Maybe if it was a daily, but it was a Sunday, so I needed to work on it.  Here’s my final try, which was finally approved.

1/2/05

1/2/05

 

Notice the doctor is completely gone out of the first panel and she’s not showing any leg at all.  In the fourth panel you can just barely see the doctor’s head and her thigh is pretty much covered.  There was some talk about the umbilical cords, but it was decided that they would be okay as is.  The only thing I like better about this strip is the last panel because I made the names bigger and easier to read and so I like the announcement better.

I like the final strip, I just liked the first or even the second one’s better.  Who knows.  Maybe the syndicate was right on this one– birth squicks some people out, but I think it’s beautiful, and since I followed her pregnancy warts and all, I thought it would be a cheat not to show the birth.

I like both girls’ names, but Maizy Kate is special because she was named for my best friend.

