I turned in my last strip to Universal in mid-August, and then I took a much needed rest.  It had been over four years without a break from the unrelenting deadlines and it felt so decadent to watch movies and read without worrying about time creeping away from me.  After almost a month of this, I began writing cartoons again feeling wonderfully refreshed and rested.  I wrote a lot about the election because I kind of got lost with the timing.  I figured my site would be up before it was.  Today I realized that the election is less than three weeks away, and if I want to fit in all of my election cartoons (and I may choose not to run them all) it’s going to be political central around here.  So, if it seems to be all election all the time, remember that this too shall pass.  In, um… about 18 days.

This cartoon was written back in July, before I found out my strip was ending.  At that time, I hadn’t heard anyone use the McSame reference, but I knew it was just a matter of time.  And I was McRight. 

 

 

My McSame cartoon

My McSame cartoon

 

This was actually supposed to be my last Sunday cartoon but there was a snafu, and the good night John-Boy one was printed instead.  That one was supposed to be dropped without having run at all (because of timing, I ended up with one Sunday strip that wasn’t going to run, and I thought the political one was the stronger cartoon to end on), but it ended up working out quite nicely.  People thought I was saying a clever goodbye and goodnight, when really, it was just a strip about the Waltons.

 

In other news, here in the Keys gas prices have hit $2.89.  (And yet, our food prices really aren’t coming down yet.  Hmmmm…)  Here’s a strip I wrote last YEAR that referenced this very phenomenon.

 

Gas Prices

Gas Prices

 

 

 

 

Coincidence?  I don’t THINK so!

 

One more thing.  I know there are people who have stumbled upon this blog but they might not realize that my actual daily cartoon that I post is up at my site www.karenmontaguereyes.com  That site and this blog have only been up a few days.  There are no archives yet, but I am thinking of putting a limited one up on this blog. Probably one week only.  I’ll get to that later this week.

 

